Sunday Drive to Heart's Content
Nestled on the eastern side of Trinity Bay is Heart's Content.
Heart's Content has a history dating back to at least 1612. In 1675 there were a total of 19 year-round residents.
In 1836 a road was built between Heart's Content and Carbonear. Today Heart's Content is connected to Victoria via the Heart's Content Barrens (Route 74).
Today Heart's Content is a fishing and tourism community. As of 2016, there were just 340 residents.
Throughout much of the community, there are some breathtaking views of the ocean. Perhaps the most noticeable landmark in the community is a large building known as the Heart's Content Cable Station.
The Heart's Content Cable Station is open as a museum. Over 150 years ago, the first successful transatlantic telegraph cable was landed at Heart’s Content. This reduced the time to communicate across the Atlantic from weeks to minutes. Construction of the cable station office started in 1875 and was completed in 1876.
Sunday Drive is a weekly feature that focuses on small to medium communities in Newfoundland and Labrador.