top of page
  • Writer's pictureStaff Writers

Finalists announced for 2023 BMO Winterset Award

The finalists for the 2023 BMO Winterset Award have been announced. The award celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing.

The three finalists are:

  • Michael Crummey "The Adversary"

  • William Ping "Hollow Bamboo"

  • Holly Hogan "Message in a Bottle: Ocean Dispatches from a Seabird Biologist"

The winner will receive a prize of $12,500 and each of the two finalists will receive $3,000.

A total of 49 entries were submitted by publishers from across the country. All genres were represented by Newfoundland and Labrador authors (native-born or resident), including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and children’s books.

Readings by the finalists will take place at The Rooms Theatre on Wednesday, March 13, at 7:00 p.m. The winner will be announced on March 14 at Government House.


bottom of page