top of page
  • Writer's pictureStaff Writers

New Appointments Made Into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

Eight people are set to be invested into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador.

It is the province’s highest honour and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour benefiting in an exemplary manner the province and its residents.

The ceremony takes place on January 29, 2020 at Government House.

This year’s recipients and the categories in which they are being honoured are:

  • Jim Burton, Portugal Cove-St. Phillips, Humanitarian

  • Elaine Dobbin, Portugal Cove-St. Phillips, Humanitarian

  • Robert Lyall, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Humanitarian

  • Helen Murphy, St. John’s, Humanitarian

  • Myles Murphy, St. John’s, Advocacy

  • Susan Rose, Broad Cove, Conception Bay North, Human Rights

  • Gordon Slade, Mount Pearl, Volunteerism

  • Bruce Templeton, Outer Cove, Volunteerism

Appointments to the Order are made by the Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador as Chancellor of the Order on the recommendation of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador Advisory Council.

bottom of page