Members of Fisheries Advisory Council Appointed #nlpoli

The Provincial Government announced it has appointed Valerie Johnson, Janice Ryan and Brad Watkins as at-large members of the provincial Fisheries Advisory Council. The appointments were made through the merit-based appointment process established by the Independent Appointments Commission Act.

Biographies of Ms. Johnson, Ms. Ryan and Mr. Watkins can be found in the backgrounder below:

  • As outlined in The Way Forward, the Fisheries Advisory Council will immediately begin work to develop a strategic action plan on cod revitalization that focuses on environmental sustainability, harvesting, processing, quality, innovation and marketing.

  • These three at-large members are joined by the independent chair, Bill Wells, and membership from the Fish, Food and Allied Workers, the Association of Seafood Producers, Seafood Processors of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association, and the Marine Institute. The Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada is also represented on the council with an ex-officio member.