top of page
  • Writer's pictureStaff Writers

Swearing-in Ceremony for John Abbott #nlpoli

Now that the court case for the district of St. John’s East – Quidi Vidi has ended, Member-elect John Abbott will be sworn in today.

The ceremony takes place at 9:30 a.m. in the House of Assembly Chamber.

The district was considered fairly safe for the NDP and was represented by NDP leader Alison Coffin.

She was defeated by Liberal John Abbott. With the margin of victory only 53 votes.

The recount requested by Coffin was denied by the Newfoundland and Labrador Supreme Court, as the province's electoral law stated that recounts were only automatically triggered if the margin of victory was less than 10 votes.

Former NDP Leader Lorraine Michael held the seat from 2015 to 2019.


bottom of page