New Federal Cabinet Sworn In #cdnpoli

The new federal Cabinet has been sworn in.

The Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, announced the members of Cabinet following the swearing-in ceremony.

The members of the Cabinet are:

  • Chrystia Freeland becomes Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs

  • Anita Anand becomes Minister of Public Services and Procurement

  • Navdeep Bains becomes Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

  • Carolyn Bennett remains Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations

  • Marie-Claude Bibeau remains Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

  • Bill Blair becomes Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

  • Bardish Chagger becomes Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth

  • François-Philippe Champagne becomes Minister of Foreign Affairs

  • Jean-Yves Duclos becomes President of the Treasury Board

  • Mona Fortier becomes Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance

  • Marc Garneau remains Minister of Transport

  • Karina Gould becomes Minister of International Development

  • Steven Guilbeault becomes Minister of Canadian Heritage

  • Patty Hajdu becomes Minister of Health

  • Ahmed Hussen becomes Minister of Families, Children and Social Development

  • Mélanie Joly becomes Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages

  • Bernadette Jordan becomes Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

  • David Lametti remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

  • Dominic LeBlanc becomes President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada

  • Diane Lebouthillier remains Minister of National Revenue

  • Lawrence MacAulay remains Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence

  • Catherine McKenna becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

  • Marco E. L. Mendicino becomes Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship

  • Marc Miller becomes Minister of Indigenous Services

  • Maryam Monsef becomes Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development

  • Bill Morneau remains Minister of Finance

  • Joyce Murray becomes Minister of Digital Government

  • Mary Ng becomes Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade

  • Seamus O’Regan becomes Minister of Natural Resources

  • Carla Qualtrough becomes Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

  • Pablo Rodriguez becomes Leader of the Government in the House of Commons

  • Harjit Sajjan remains Minister of National Defence

  • Deb Schulte becomes Minister of Seniors

  • Filomena Tassi becomes Minister of Labour

  • Dan Vandal becomes Minister of Northern Affairs

  • Jonathan Wilkinson becomes Minister of Environment and Climate Change

The current Ministry consists of the Prime Minister and 36 ministers. In keeping with the precedent set in the previous Ministry, there is an equal number of women and men.