• Staff Writers

The New House of Commons Setup #elxn43 #cdnpoli

After a long night, we now know how the next House of Commons will be laid out.

Justin Trudeau will remain as Prime Minister in a minority parliament. The Liberal Party won a total of 157 seats. Trudeau also won his seat in Papineau.

Forming the Official Opposition will be the Conservative Party winning 121 seats. Leader Andrew Scheer won the district of Regina-Qu'Appelle and plans to remain on as leader.

In third place is the Bloc Québécois with 32 seats. Their leader, Yves-François Blanchet also won his riding of Beloeil-Chambly.

Jagmeet Singh the NDP leader also won his riding of Burnaby South. The NDP's drops to 24 seats.

The Green Party will have 3 seats. Leader Elizabeth May won her riding of Saanich-Gulf Islands.

There was one Independent elected, Jody Wilson-Raybould in the riding of Vancouver Granville.

In this province the Liberal's took six of the seven seats, with the NDP winning one.

Here are the winners from this province:

  • Avalon Liberal Party of Canada Kenneth McDonald

  • Bonavista–Burin–Trinity Liberal Party of Canada Churence Rogers

  • Coast of Bays–Central–Notre Dame Liberal Party of Canada Scott Simms

  • Labrador Liberal Party of Canada Yvonne Jones

  • Long Range Mountains Liberal Party of Canada Gudie Hutchings

  • St. John's East New Democratic Party Jack Harris

  • St. John's South–Mount Pearl Liberal Party of Canada Seamus O'Regan