Today is Election Day #elxn43

Today is election day.

Polls will be open from 8:30 am to 8:30 pm local time in Newfoundland and in Labrador.

31 candidates are running in seven ridings across the province.

The only way to vote is at your assigned polling station. You can find out where to vote here.

As a country, there are 338 seats to be determined. 170 are required for a majority.

Here is the seat breakdown prior to the election:

  • Liberal 177

  • Conservative 95

  • NDP 39

  • Green 2

  • Bloc Québécois 10

  • People's Party 1

  • Co-operative Commonwealth Federation 1

  • Independent 8

  • Vacant 5

Newfound News will have live coverage starting at 8:00 pm Newfoundland time on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Follow us to keep in the loop. We will continue our coverage until the next government is determined.